Return to Headlines

LCMSD Response to the Tragedy in Texas

Dear LCMSD Community,

All of us are stunned, saddened and angered by yet another school shooting. Our first priority every day in working with our community's children is in keeping them safe from harm. Events like the Texas shooting only deepen our resolve as a school and district to ensure safety for all students and adults.

LCMSD engages in regular emergency drills including lockdown/active shooter procedures. We partner with Central Marin Police Authority and Central Marin Fire to learn from best practices, ensure clear communication, and coordinate efforts in emergency response. Here are some examples of LCMSD’s safety systems and practices. 

  • Anonymous tip form
  • Regular updating of emergency plans for all school sites
  • Video cameras that school officials and emergency personnel have access to
  • Participation in countywide emergency meetings and trainings such as the Marin County Sheriff’s Department Active Shooter Course
  • Collaboration with local and Los Angeles districts on lessons learned/emergency planning, adjusted plans based on these discussions
  • Conducted a safety/security analysis of all sites (with our insurance provider)
  • LockBloks and window coverings are installed in all classrooms for efficient securing of classrooms
  • Raptor check-in technology that includes background information, badges for visitors, and badges for staff
  • Have recently been awarded grant funding to support school violence prevention, as well as collaboration with first responders (more to come on this in August) 

Below are resources that can be helpful for students, teachers and families when discussing this incident, as it will receive widespread media coverage.  

Additionally, here is LCMSD’s safety newsletter from the fall. 

Please know we are here to support your child and your family. Should you have any questions or concerns, please feel free to reach out to your site administrator, counselor, or me.

Take care,

Dr. Brett Geithman



Board of Trustees

Annie Sherman, President

Eric Schmautz, Vice President

Monica Cañas, Clerk

Amir Movafaghi

Sarah Mueller